List of 2016 holidays

Because it seems like social media celebrates a holiday pretty much every day ... I thought I would confine them into one list for future reference.

Date    Weekday Holiday name    Holiday type    Where it is observed
Jan 1   Friday  New Year's Day  Federal Holiday  
Jan 6   Wednesday   Epiphany    Christian    
Jan 7   Thursday    Orthodox Christmas Day  Orthodox     
Jan 13  Wednesday   Stephen Foster Memorial Day Observance   
Jan 14  Thursday    Orthodox New Year   Orthodox     
Jan 15  Friday  Lee Jackson Day State holiday   Virginia
Jan 18  Monday  Martin Luther King Day  Federal Holiday  
Jan 18  Monday  Robert E Lee's Birthday State holiday   Alabama, Arkansas
Jan 18  Monday  State Holiday   State holiday   Mississippi
Jan 18  Monday  Idaho Human Rights Day  State holiday   Idaho
Jan 18  Monday  Civil Rights Day    State holiday   Arizona, New Hampshire
Jan 19  Tuesday Robert E Lee's Birthday State holiday   Florida
Jan 19  Tuesday State Holiday   State holiday   Texas
Jan 25  Monday  Tu Bishvat/Tu B'Shevat  Jewish holiday   
Jan 29  Friday  Kansas Day  Observance   
Feb 1   Monday  National Freedom Day    Observance   
Feb 2   Tuesday Groundhog Day   Observance   
Feb 4   Thursday    Rosa Parks Day  Local observance    California, Ohio
Feb 5   Friday  National Wear Red Day   Observance   
Feb 8   Monday  Chinese New Year    Observance   
Feb 9   Tuesday Shrove Tuesday/Mardi Gras   State holiday   Alabama, Louisiana
Feb 9   Tuesday Shrove Tuesday/Mardi Gras   Local observance    Florida
Feb 9   Tuesday Shrove Tuesday/Mardi Gras   Observance   
Feb 10  Wednesday   Ash Wednesday   Christian    
Feb 12  Friday  Lincoln's Birthday  State holiday   CT, IL, MO, NY
Feb 12  Friday  Lincoln's Birthday  Local observance    Florida
Feb 14  Sunday  Valentine's Day Observance   
Feb 14  Sunday  Statehood Day in Arizona    Local observance    Arizona
Feb 15  Monday  Presidents' Day Federal Holiday  
Feb 15  Monday  Daisy Gatson Bates Day  State holiday   Arkansas
Feb 15  Monday  Susan B Anthony's Birthday  Local observance    CA, FL, NY, WI
Feb 28  Sunday  Linus Pauling Day   Local observance    Oregon
Mar 1   Tuesday St. David's Day Observance   
Mar 1   Tuesday Town Meeting-dag Vermont    State holiday    
Mar 2   Wednesday   Texas Independence Day  State holiday   Texas
Mar 2   Wednesday   Read Across America Day Observance   
Mar 4   Friday  Employee Appreciation Day   Observance   
Mar 7   Monday  Casimir Pulaski Day State holiday   Illinois
Mar 13  Sunday  Daylight Saving Time starts Clock change/Daylight Saving Time    
Mar 17  Thursday    St. Patrick's Day   Observance   
Mar 17  Thursday    Evacuation Day  State holiday   Massachusetts
Mar 20  Sunday  Palm Sunday Christian    
Mar 20  Sunday  March equinox   Season   
Mar 24  Thursday    Maundy Thursday Christian    
Mar 24  Thursday    Purim   Jewish holiday   
Mar 25  Friday  Good Friday State holiday   13 states
Mar 25  Friday  Maryland Day    Local observance    Maryland
Mar 25  Friday  Prince Jonah Kuhio Kalanianaoles dag observed   State holiday   Hawaii
Mar 26  Saturday    Holy Saturday   Christian    
Mar 26  Saturday    Prince Jonah Kuhio Kalanianaoles dag    State holiday   Hawaii
Mar 27  Sunday  Easter Sunday   Observance, Christian    
Mar 28  Monday  Easter Monday   Christian    
Mar 28  Monday  Seward's Day    State holiday   Alaska
Mar 31  Thursday    César Chávez Day    State holiday   CA, CO*, TX*
Apr 1   Friday  Pascua Florida Day observed Local observance    Florida
Apr 2   Saturday    Pascua Florida Day  Local observance    Florida
Apr 6   Wednesday   National Tartan Day Observance   
Apr 12  Tuesday National Library Workers' Day   Observance   
Apr 13  Wednesday   Thomas Jefferson's Birthday Observance   
Apr 15  Friday  Father Damien Day   Local observance    Hawaii
Apr 15  Friday  Emancipation Day observed   State holiday   District of Columbia
Apr 16  Saturday    Emancipation Day    State holiday   District of Columbia
Apr 18  Monday  Tax Day Observance   
Apr 18  Monday  Patriot's Day   State holiday   Maine, Massachusetts
Apr 21  Thursday    San Jacinto Day State holiday   Texas
Apr 22  Friday  Oklahoma Day    Local observance    Oklahoma
Apr 23  Saturday    Passover (first day)    Jewish holiday   
Apr 25  Monday  Confederate Memorial Day    State holiday   Alabama, Florida
Apr 25  Monday  State Holiday   State holiday   Georgia
Apr 25  Monday  State Holiday   State holiday   Mississippi
Apr 26  Tuesday State Holiday   Local observance    Florida
Apr 27  Wednesday   Administrative Professionals Day    Observance   
Apr 28  Thursday    Take our Daughters and Sons to Work Day Observance   
Apr 29  Friday  Orthodox Good Friday    Orthodox     
Apr 29  Friday  Arbor Day   State holiday   Nebraska
Apr 30  Saturday    Last Day of Passover    Jewish holiday   
Apr 30  Saturday    Orthodox Holy Saturday  Orthodox     
May 1   Sunday  Orthodox Easter Orthodox     
May 1   Sunday  Law Day Observance   
May 1   Sunday  Loyalty Day Observance   
May 2   Monday  Orthodox Easter Monday  Orthodox     
May 3   Tuesday Primary Election Day Indiana    State holiday   Indiana
May 4   Wednesday   Yom HaShoah Jewish holiday   
May 4   Wednesday   Kent State Shootings Remembrance    Local observance    Ohio
May 4   Wednesday   Rhode Island Independence Day   Local observance    Rhode Island
May 5   Thursday    Ascension Day   Christian    
May 5   Thursday    Isra and Mi'raj Muslim   
May 5   Thursday    Cinco de Mayo   Observance   
May 5   Thursday    National Day of Prayer  Observance   
May 6   Friday  National Nurses Day Observance   
May 7   Saturday    National Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) Day  Observance   
May 8   Sunday  Mother's Day    Observance   
May 8   Sunday  Truman Day  State holiday   Missouri
May 9   Monday  Truman Day observed State holiday   Missouri
May 10  Tuesday State Holiday   State holiday   South Carolina
May 10  Tuesday State Holiday   Local observance    North Carolina
May 10  Tuesday Primary Election Day West Virginia  State holiday   West Virginia
May 12  Thursday    Yom Ha'atzmaut  Jewish holiday   
May 15  Sunday  Pentecost   Christian    
May 15  Sunday  Peace Officers Memorial Day Observance   
May 16  Monday  Whit Monday Christian    
May 20  Friday  National Defense Transportation Day Observance   
May 21  Saturday    Armed Forces Day    Observance   
May 22  Sunday  Trinity Sunday  Christian    
May 22  Sunday  National Maritime Day   Observance   
May 22  Sunday  Harvey Milk Day Local observance    California
May 25  Wednesday   Emergency Medical Services for Children Day Observance   
May 25  Wednesday   National Missing Children's Day Observance   
May 26  Thursday    Corpus Christi  Christian    
May 26  Thursday    Lag BaOmer  Jewish holiday   
May 30  Monday  Memorial Day    Federal Holiday  
May 30  Monday  Jefferson Davis Birthday    Local observance    Mississippi
Jun 1   Wednesday   Statehood Day   Local observance    Kentucky, Tennessee
Jun 3   Friday  Jefferson Davis Birthday    Local observance    Florida
Jun 6   Monday  Jefferson Davis Birthday    State holiday   Alabama
Jun 6   Monday  D-Day   Observance   
Jun 7   Tuesday Ramadan starts  Muslim   
Jun 10  Friday  Kamehameha Day observed State holiday   Hawaii
Jun 11  Saturday    Kamehameha Day  State holiday   Hawaii
Jun 12  Sunday  Shavuot Jewish holiday   
Jun 14  Tuesday U.S. Army Birthday  Observance   
Jun 14  Tuesday Flag Day    Observance   
Jun 17  Friday  Bunker Hill Day State holiday   Massachusetts
Jun 19  Sunday  Father's Day    Observance   
Jun 19  Sunday  Juneteenth  Local observance    All except Am. Samoa, AZ, HI, MD, MP, MT, ND, NH, SD, TX, UT, Virg. Is.
Jun 19  Sunday  Emancipation Day    State holiday   Texas
Jun 20  Monday  June Solstice   Season   
Jun 20  Monday  West Virginia Day   State holiday   West Virginia
Jun 20  Monday  American Eagle Day  Observance   
Jul 2   Saturday    Lailat al-Qadr  Muslim   
Jul 4   Monday  Independence Day    Federal Holiday  
Jul 7   Thursday    Eid al-Fitr Muslim   
Jul 24  Sunday  Pioneer Day State holiday   Utah
Jul 24  Sunday  Parents' Day    Observance   
Jul 25  Monday  Pioneer Day observed    State holiday   Utah
Aug 1   Monday  Colorado Day    Local observance    Colorado
Aug 4   Thursday    U.S. Coast Guard Birthday   Observance   
Aug 7   Sunday  Purple Heart Day    Observance   
Aug 8   Monday  Victory Day State holiday   Rhode Island
Aug 14  Sunday  Tisha B'Av  Jewish holiday   
Aug 15  Monday  Assumption of Mary  Christian    
Aug 16  Tuesday Bennington Battle Day   State holiday   Vermont
Aug 19  Friday  Statehood Day in Hawaii State holiday   Hawaii
Aug 19  Friday  National Aviation Day   Observance   
Aug 21  Sunday  Senior Citizens Day Observance   
Aug 26  Friday  Women's Equality Day    Observance   
Aug 27  Saturday    Lyndon Baines Johnson Day   State holiday   Texas
Sep 5   Monday  Labor Day   Federal Holiday  
Sep 9   Friday  California Admission Day    Local observance    California
Sep 10  Saturday    Carl Garner Federal Lands Cleanup Day   Observance   
Sep 11  Sunday  Patriot Day Observance   
Sep 11  Sunday  National Grandparents Day   Observance   
Sep 13  Tuesday Eid al-Adha Muslim   
Sep 16  Friday  Constitution Day and Citizenship Day observed   Observance   
Sep 16  Friday  National POW/MIA Recognition Day    Observance   
Sep 17  Saturday    Constitution Day and Citizenship Day    Observance   
Sep 18  Sunday  Air Force Birthday  Observance   
Sep 22  Thursday    September equinox   Season   
Sep 22  Thursday    Emancipation Day    Local observance    Ohio
Sep 23  Friday  Native Americans' Day   Local observance    California
Sep 25  Sunday  Gold Star Mother's Day  Observance   
Oct 3   Monday  Rosh Hashana    State holiday   Texas
Oct 3   Monday  Rosh Hashana    Jewish holiday   
Oct 3   Monday  Muharram    Muslim   
Oct 3   Monday  Child Health Day    Observance   
Oct 4   Tuesday Feast of St Francis of Assisi   Christian    
Oct 9   Sunday  Leif Erikson Day    Observance   
Oct 10  Monday  Columbus Day    Local observance    Florida
Oct 10  Monday  Columbus Day    Federal Holiday All except AK, AR, CA, DE, FL, HI, MI, MN, ND, NV, OR, SD, TX, VT, WA, WI, WY
Oct 10  Monday  Native Americans' Day   Local observance    South Dakota
Oct 10  Monday  Indigenous People's Day Local observance    CA*, MN*, WA*
Oct 12  Wednesday   Yom Kippur  State holiday   Texas
Oct 12  Wednesday   Yom Kippur  Jewish holiday   
Oct 13  Thursday    U.S. Navy Birthday  Observance   
Oct 15  Saturday    White Cane Safety Day   Observance   
Oct 17  Monday  First Day of Sukkot Jewish holiday   
Oct 17  Monday  Boss's Day  Observance   
Oct 18  Tuesday Alaska Day  State holiday   Alaska
Oct 23  Sunday  Last Day of Sukkot  Jewish holiday   
Oct 24  Monday  Shmini Atzeret  Jewish holiday   
Oct 25  Tuesday Simchat Torah   Jewish holiday   
Oct 28  Friday  Nevada Day  State holiday   Nevada
Oct 29  Saturday    Diwali/Deepavali    Observance   
Oct 31  Monday  Halloween   Observance   
Nov 1   Tuesday All Saints' Day Christian    
Nov 2   Wednesday   All Souls' Day  Christian    
Nov 6   Sunday  Daylight Saving Time ends   Clock change/Daylight Saving Time    
Nov 8   Tuesday Election Day    Observance   
Nov 8   Tuesday Election Day    State holiday   14 states
Nov 10  Thursday    Marine Corps Birthday   Observance   
Nov 10  Thursday    Return Day Delaware State holiday   Delaware
Nov 11  Friday  Veterans Day    Federal Holiday  
Nov 24  Thursday    Thanksgiving Day    Federal Holiday  
Nov 25  Friday  State Holiday   State holiday   Georgia
Nov 25  Friday  Presidents' Day State holiday   New Mexico
Nov 25  Friday  Lincoln's Birthday/Lincoln's Day    State holiday   Indiana, West Virginia
Nov 25  Friday  Black Friday    State holiday   24 states
Nov 25  Friday  American Indian Heritage Day    State holiday   Maryland
Nov 27  Sunday  First Sunday of Advent  Christian    
Nov 28  Monday  Cyber Monday    Observance   
Dec 6   Tuesday St Nicholas' Day    Observance   
Dec 7   Wednesday   Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day    Observance   
Dec 8   Thursday    Feast of the Immaculate Conception  Christian    
Dec 12  Monday  The Prophet's Birthday  Muslim   
Dec 12  Monday  Feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe  Observance   
Dec 13  Tuesday U.S. National Guard Birthday    Observance   
Dec 17  Saturday    Pan American Aviation Day   Observance   
Dec 17  Saturday    Wright Brothers Day Observance   
Dec 21  Wednesday   December Solstice   Season   
Dec 23  Friday  Christmas Eve observed  State holiday   KS*, LA, MI, NC, ND, OK, SC, TX, VA*, WI
Dec 24  Saturday    Christmas Eve   Observance, Christian    
Dec 24  Saturday    Christmas Eve   State holiday   KS*, LA, MI, NC, ND, OK, SC, TX, VA*, WI
Dec 25  Sunday  Chanukah/Hanukkah (first day)   Jewish holiday   
Dec 25  Sunday  Christmas Day   Federal Holiday  
Dec 26  Monday  Kwanzaa (until Jan 1)   Observance   
Dec 26  Monday  Christmas Day observed  Federal Holiday  
Dec 26  Monday  Day After Christmas Day State holiday   KS, KY, NC, NC, NH, SC, TX
Dec 30  Friday  New Year's Eve observed State holiday   LA, MI, WI
Dec 31  Saturday    New Year's Eve  Observance   
Dec 31  Saturday    New Year's Eve  State holiday   LA, MI, WI
Austin PayneComment